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Tips to help you sort through a ‘wrong server’ 

Guidelines when it 
comes to jewelry

We have seen a number of 
instances where a team is called 
for a wrong server, but they are 
correct once the referee checks 
the score sheet and gets everyone 
lined up. 
Are you familiar with how to 

check a score sheet? The first 
thing you need to check is that 
the lineups were written incor-
rectly. The next thing to check is 
if the Service Rounds boxes (exit 
scores) are “lined up” correctly. 
The team that receives to start 
the set will always be one service 
round ahead in exit scores, or if 
the team that served first is cur-
rently serving, the team will be 
in the same service round as the 
receiving team’s last exit score. 
See sample.
This would not be possible 

since the serving team on the left 
already has an exit score in the 
4th service round. This means 

the team on the right should have 
already had an exit score in the 
4th service round. Check your 
service rounds to make sure they 
align correctly. Many times, when 
there seems to be an issue, there 
is a missing exit score. In the 
sample below, service round 5 
on the right just finished serving. 
The next server on the left would 
be...position 5. Same as the last 

receiving team’s service round
Once you have checked the 

service rounds are correct, make 
sure the teams are correct. Most of 
the time they are. Ask the teams to 
line up on the court in the rotation 
they think they are in.
Verify the order is correct 

and make sure the score sheet 
is correct. If the teams are lined 
up correctly, but the score sheet 

seems to be wrong, sometimes 
it is just the score sheet that is 
incorrect. We may need to adjust 
the score sheet to what is on the 
court if both teams are correct 
on the court. Remember, we do 
not always go by what is on the 
score sheet. If the score sheet has 
obvious errors, we must make the 
best decision with the informa-
tion that we have available.

The question of what is allowed for jewelry has continued 
to come up. Remember to review the 51: Critical Rules and 
Point of Emphasis module in your US23.501 National & Jr. 
National
Referee Training from January. This information gives 

you a good understanding of what is and is not allowed. 
USA Volleyball allows jewelry. We do not have any specific 
measurement of what is considered unsafe. This is up to 
the official, but we need to be reasonable. We offered as 
a guideline that hoops are generally too large if another 
player could snag their finger inside the hoop. Some have 
interpreted that to mean, “If you can fit your finger in a 
hoop earring, it is unsafe.” 
This is a good starting point, but all fingers are not the 

same size. Whose finger are we using as the gauge? The 
same applies for necklaces. How long is too long? Make 
your best judgment, but remember to use common sense. 
We are only concerned if we truly believe the jewelry poses 
a safety concern during normal play.

NCAA Div. I/II Men’s Championship
The NCAA Men’s Volleyball National Championship match had a 
little Wisconsin flavor to it this year. Scott Prox, a Wisconsin native 
(top row, second from right), served as a line judge in the finals at 
George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. The match was won by 
UCLA, 3-1, over Hawaii.
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We still see many questions 
about when to charge a substitu-
tion when we have an illegal(in-
correct) lineup submitted. If we 
discover an illegal lineup before 
the set begins, the quick answer 
is, “Never!” The lineup should 
not have been accepted in the 
first place.
When you are checking line-

ups, the players on the lineup 
must be the players on the court. 
A legal lineup means they have 
six different numbers in the start-
ing rotation, and they have one 
or two liberos listed that are not 
duplicate of any other numbers 
on the lineup sheet. All numbers 
on the lineup are on the roster 
and present on the bench. In 
other words, the numbers written 
on the lineup can be put on the 
court. If this is possible, the team 
may only make changes by using 
a sub. It does not matter if a play-
er gets sick or is injured during 
warm-ups, the team can only
change a legal lineup by using 

a substitution.
In the case where you have a 

player on the court that is not 
listed on the lineup but that play-

er IS on the bench, we inform the 
team/players they need to switch 
so the players on the court match 
the players on the lineup. No 
substitution is used. We put the 
correct lineup on the court (Rule 
7.3.5.2). If they wish to keep the 
player on the court (that is not 
listed on the lineup), they must 
use a substitution (USAV 7.3.5.3).
When it is impossible to put the 

players on the court that are on the 
lineup, this is an illegal lineup.
This could be due to writing 

duplicate numbers on the lineup 
sheet or writing a number on the 
lineup sheet that does not exist 
on the roster. When the lineup is 
illegal, we must change the line-
up to get a legal starting lineup 

on the court and the team is not 
charged a substitution.
If an illegal lineup is caught 

immediately after we receive the 
lineup, hand the lineup back to the 
coach and ask them to correct it. 
They can rearrange the entire line-
up. This would be considered as if 
the lineup had not been submitted.
If this is caught while checking 

the lineup to start the set:
1) Duplicate number in Libero 

and starting position...
a. If they keep the Libero as the 

number listed, they correct the 
number in the starting position 
and are NOT charged a sub.
b. If they keep the duplicate 

number as the starting player, 
they designate a different number 
as the Libero. No penalty is 
assessed.
2) Duplicate number in two 

starting positions...
a. They must correct one of 

the duplicate numbers. They may 
correct either one, but may only 
change one of the two duplicate 
numbers and may not make any 
other changes to the lineup. This 
would NOT count as a sub.
b. Any other changes to the 

lineup would have to be a regular 
sub, and the players on the orig-
inal lineup would be locked into 
those positions.
3) A player does not exist on 

the roster
• If a player is listed on the 

lineup sheet but does not exist on 
the roster, the number is correct-
ed, and NO sub is charged to the 
team (USAV 7.3.5.1).
• If a player is listed on the 

lineup sheet but is not present on 
the bench at an event where ros-
ters are not used, the number is 
corrected, and NO sub is charged 
to the team (USAV 7.3.5.1).
If any of these scenarios are 

caught AFTER the set has started, 
we now fall under USAV 7.3.5.2 
and USAV 7.3.5.4. The penalty 
will depend on when the error 
is discovered. If the duplicate 
or incorrect number is a regu-
lar player, the team must use a 
substitution to record the correct 
number on the score sheet. If the 
duplicate or incorrect number 
is a Libero, the Libero may be 
re-designated as long as the team 
designated only one Libero to 
begin the set (Rule 19.4).

When do we charge a sub for a wrong lineup?


